top of page

Eat it, It's good for you.

Recently both my wife and I decided it was time to make some changes in our lives. That meant eating better, more exercise, and so on.

The first thing we needed to do, (primarily I needed to do) is stop with the junk food, starting with my morning tea that had close to 6 tea spoons of sugar. Plus all the other wonderful stuff I was shoving down my throat through the day, which was nothing short of a chemical dumping.

Do ya think I have a sweet tooth?

Of course this requires a new approach in ways I was not ever used to behaving like before. And, seeing that I was attacking my health issues on such fronts as, cholesterol, salt and sugar, it also meant a lot of boring label readings. (I actually found it quite fascinating) What was even more interesting were the claims made by various products, and the quantities of the big offenders like salt sugar and cholesterol. Now this below is what a real snack should look like, and you get to add all the garlic you want, YUMMMM.

So no more bags of chips, or bars of candy and so on. Now we will eat healthy, wear hemp clothing, and sing songs around the camp fire, eh no !

We will monitor things like blood glucose, weight and blood pressure, and eat meals that are made versus delivered from a fast food menu. That sounds like fun don't it ? Well actually it is fun, and can be very good for you, and as one who loves food of every kind, I really thought that making any change to my diet would be a road to misery and disappointment.

Yet take a look at this supper, Grilled beef shish kabobs, snuggled with onions, tomatoes, and fresh mushrooms all grilled to yumminess, accompanied by roasted yams seasoned with fresh garlic and spice, all low in salt as recommended for a healthy diet, and low in sugars as part of an over all meal plan for the day.

Yet to put health benefits aside, this is something i'm quite enjoying in so many ways. First and foremost, I have to be honest and tell you that I am not alone in this venture, as the saying goes, behind every successful man there will be a woman, I'm no different. My wife, friend, adviser, and yes sorceress, who has charms and spells that always seem to make me do as I am told. OK, I know it's for my own good.

The first thing I started doing was to cut out all my refined sugars, from the tea I drank, to about every other kind of thing one could unwrap, un-lid and so on. Then I started looking up what foods are good for you, the lists of proteins, sugar, fat, cholesterol and so on. Now it does sound a little obsessive, but information is key. A quick look at a label is not all as you may think, what is claimed versus what is read ! It would seem from some initial research, that a sort of play on words is being used on things we buy and eat, to somehow either make us feel better about our choices, or sell one product over an other. I recently found an article online about such things, and there are so many more if one chooses to research the subject. ( http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2010/02/25/9-food-label-lies.aspx )

So far the past several weeks I have eaten more fruits and veggies than ever before, and let me tell you its been delicious. I have also been eating meat, chicken and fish too. All cooked and seasoned in such ways that made me think I must be cheating. How can dietary control and taste be so good, and good for you? This while documenting and measuring every morsel of food we are consuming, its unbelievable. Check this link out.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Bpr20BdngSY Jamie Oliver's Documentary about sugar consumption.

bottom of page